GAME DESIGN : WHAT IS YOUR GAME'S HOOK ?

GAME DESIGN : WHAT IS YOUR GAME'S HOOK ?

[DEVLOG#1] And why mine is not working

I have been struggling for 2 weeks developing my game. But that was not for technical reasons actually !

The more I was building it and the more bored I was. Because in my game, apart from the scenario the core mechanics were not different from your classic plateformer.

And all great games have one thing in common : Even if you strip out almost all mechanics, there are still fun to play around with !

This is, my friend.. the HOOK !

Pokemon for exemple : remove the pnj, remove the building, remove the scrolling, remove the league and have only one map. It will still be fun ! Why ? Because the core mechanic is catching & fighting pokemon that you collect.

And if I had only one sentence to describe my actual idea, I found out that it would be :

" it is a plateformer "

Ahem...

Anyway, I learned there a valuable lesson that costed me 2 weeks of work. BUT my project will overall improve from this decision :

I'm rethinking my project and for the coming week, I'll come up with a new concept for it that will be fun even in its early stage.

For the one that have been following my newly made devblog, I hope that this article helped you a bit and I'm impatient to entertain you, both with the game and articles in the incoming weeks.

See you soon !